Ross High School Students Inducted into National Spanish Honor Society

National Spanish Honor Society inductees

On Wednesday, April 4th, at 6:30pm, 8 new members were inducted into the Santiago Calatrava Chapter of the Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica (National Spanish Honor Society) at Ross High School. These students have completed a minimum of three units of study of Spanish language and culture, and have expressed an interest in continuing the study and use of the language in the future. 


The society was founded in 1953 by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese for high school students in North America. Each chapter is named for a famous or influential Spanish-speaking person, place, or historical artifact. The chapter at Ross High School is named for a famous Spanish architect, Santiago Calatrava, who is known for taking design inspiration from nature. 


The 8 students that were inducted into the society were: Lexie Bramel, Alex Krah, Hannah Latimer, Katie Ledford, Elizabeth Roberts, Autumn Roemer, Kellan Romans, and Brianna Starr. The ceremony was led in Spanish and English by President Josh Eads, Vice President Eric Dietrich, and Chapter Sponsor Angela Gardner.  During the ceremony, Eric Dietrich was honored with the Chapter's <<Premio de Honor>> (Award of Honor) in recognition for his outstanding efforts to learn the Spanish language and culture and to serve and lead in the Honor Society. 

Back to School News      Print News Article